CMS Front Row National – Concert #11

Bach – The Complete Brandenburg Concertos: April 18, 2021 at 3pm (Central Time)

CMS Front Row National is a series of programs, expertly curated by Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center co-Artistic Directors David Finckel and Wu Han, to celebrate chamber music at its finest. San Antonio Chamber Music Society is proud to be a CMS Front Row National Broadcast Sponsor.

This performance will be available for your enjoyment until midnight on Saturday, April 24, 2021.

Though Bach practically defined Baroque music as we know it today, he met with a surprising number of setbacks in his own lifetime. The Brandenburg Concertos were one such unsuccessful attempt for recognition. They were named after Christian Ludwig, the Margrave of Brandenburg, who Bach only met once—in 1719 during a trip to Berlin. The Margrave asked for some of his music but it took two years for Bach to deliver, at which time his employer, Prince Leopold of Cöthen, was having financial difficulties and Bach was probably looking for leads on a new job. Bach gathered six concertos with vastly different instrumentations, made revisions, and sent them to the Margrave in March 1721. Not only did Bach not get a job, there is no record the Margrave ever listened to them or even acknowledged Bach’s gift. The Brandenburgs remained virtually unknown until they were rediscovered in 1849 in the archives of Brandenburg.


Brandenburg Concerto No. 1 in F major, BWV 1046

Brandenburg Concerto No. 2 in F major, BWV 1047

Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G major, BWV 1048

Brandenburg Concerto No. 4 in G major, BWV 1049

Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D major, BWV 1050

Brandenburg Concerto No. 6 in B-flat major, BWV 1051

Program Notes

Download the program notes in PDF format.

Other Performances From This Artist